Bug: Google Chrome Version Detection

Conclusion: When S/MIME is installed, openVAS mistakenly assigns the S/MIME version number to Google Chrome resulting in almost 200 false positive vulnerabilities.

I just started learning NASL yesterday, so I could be mistaken in how I am reading the code (so please help if I missed something), but I am fairly certain I have found a bug.

I am running OpenVAS scans using AV OSSIM. 3 computers registered 105 high vulnerabilities which weren’t present on the rest of the workstations. They were all related to Google Chrome.

The report stated that Google Chrome version 15.21.8108 was installed. After digging around in openVAS to figure out how it determines the version number, I found:
/var/lib/openvas/plugins/gb_google_chrome_detect_win.nasl

It appears to look for a registry key in one of two locations depending on the osArch.

if(“x86” >< osArch){
key = "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall";
}

else if(“x64” >< osArch){
key = "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall";
}

My workstations are x64, but the Google Chrome registry key is actually stored in "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall". However, S/MIME is stored in "SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall".

The full name is “Microsoft S/MIME Control for Outlook on the web for Microsoft Edge and Google Chrome” which causes it to pass the next test in the plugin where it looks for “Google Chrome” in the DisplayName.

foreach item (registry_enum_keys(key:key))
{
appName = registry_get_sz(key:key + item, item:“DisplayName”);

if(“Google Chrome” >< appName)
{
chromeVer = registry_get_sz(key:key + item, item:“DisplayVersion”);
if(chromeVer)
{
chromePath = registry_get_sz(key:key + item, item:“InstallLocation”);

set_kb_item(name:"GoogleChrome/Win/Ver", value:chromeVer);

cpe = build_cpe(value:chromeVer, exp:"^([0-9.]+)", base:"cpe:/a:google:chrome:");
  if(isnull(cpe))