GVM 20.08 Postgres user/ownership issues for creating GVM admin users

Hi,

I’m a newbie trying to use the Ubuntu PPA on a VM in AWS. I’ve reviewed the installation notes provided in the PPA, as well as several others regarding the setting up of GVM admin users (specifically to get the scan config downloads working) but find myself unable to follow the instructions exactly because:

1. If I use the instructions at https://github.com/greenbone/gvmd/blob/master/INSTALL.md#setting-up-the-postgresql-database to createdb with the owner set to ubuntu (the AWS default user), I see errors at run time in /var/log/gvm/gvmd.log along these lines:

md main:MESSAGE:2021-02-26 11h49.03 utc:27398:    Greenbone Vulnerability Manager version 20.08.1 (DB revision 233)
    md manage:WARNING:2021-02-26 11h49.03 utc:27400: sql_exec_internal: PQexec failed: ERROR:  must be owner of aggregate group_concat (7)
    md manage:WARNING:2021-02-26 11h49.03 utc:27400: sql_exec_internal: SQL: DROP AGGREGATE IF EXISTS group_concat (text, text);
    md manage:WARNING:2021-02-26 11h49.03 utc:27400: sqlv: sql_exec_internal failed

after installation.

2. Instead of following those instructions, if I allow the PPA packages to perform the createdb, then the gvmd database owner is set to the builtin postgres account, and I can avoid those errors above using commands like sudo -u postgres gvmd --create-user=ubuntu and so on. However, I am unable to get the scan configs to load even after using

sudo -u postgres gvmd --modify-setting 78eceaec-3385-11ea-b237-28d24461215b --value <uuid-of-ubuntu-or-admin-user>

to set the Feed Import Owner. In the Web GUI, I can see that all feeds are listed as current, so I guessing that the setting of the Feed Import Owner is not correct.

AFAIK, without the scan configs, I’m pretty much stuck. Any thoughts as to what could be wrong, or what to look at to diagnose further?

Thanks, Shaheed