Is VT 107303 a false positive?

I’m new to OpenVAS nasl code, so please help me understand if I’m wrong…

I’m getting what I think is a false positive from 1.3.6.1.4.1.25623.1.0.107303, on every accessible Windows device on the network. It spits out all the boilerplate text in the report, but no actual machine-specific information that I would expect to see (such as the report from line 200ff). Perhaps related, I’ve tried running the WMI command myself and all the service paths seem to be quoted correctly.

Could someone please help me understand why this vulnerability could be showing up in my report, but without any detail? Is there a problem with the nasl?

Thanks very much!

Hi,

and thanks for your report. It would be great if you could provide some more details on your observations:

1. Which OpenVAS/GVM versions (especially openvas-smb) are you using?
  2. Which Feed-Version are you using?
  3. Which Windows versions are you observing this?
  4. Whats the exact output of the VT you’re getting? (It should be either about an uninstall and/or service path)
  5. Whats the output of the following command (replace the related login data with valid ones and use an absolute path to the wmic if required) started on the system running OpenVAS/GVM:
wmic -U "domain\username%password" //Target-IP "SELECT DisplayName, Name, PathName FROM Win32_Service WHERE NOT PathName LIKE '%c:\\windows\\System32%' AND PathName LIKE '% %'"

Note: If unsure about 1. you could monitor Hint: How to compare the current used versions of the OpenVAS/GVM packages with the GVM-9 stable release? if it receives any answers, if unsure about 2. please create a new thread in https://community.greenbone.net/c/gse

Thanks for your reply. See the answers to your questions below, but I also think I have some insight into this issue.