No Community Feed

Used Version 6.0.10: under Virtual Box 6.1 on Windows 10 version 1909

Hi Everyone.
I have managed the install without issues and it would seem I have network connectivity (bridged adapter in Virtual Box to my Wifi Card) and I can reach the web interface without a problem from my Windows OS. I have configured three layers of DNS (local router, ISP DNS, Google DNS plus setting the Global Gateway as my router IP on my local network and I do not use a proxy.

What I can not do is sync to the community feed on either port 24 or 443.

Although I am fairly IT literate I am a noob on this so any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Questions I have are

How do I run a test to check outbound connectivity
To what url should I be testing

Thanks

We are using rsync for the feed which (as far as I know) requires port 873.

1 Like

Hi Bricks, the menu program inside the only shows the other two ports. Does my firewall need to open 837 on TCP and /or UDP and does it need to be two way i.e. in and out?

Please disable your firewall and give the GCE direct “IPv4/v6 based” internet connection, then you should be able to run a feed update. Please note Proxy and NAT are not supported for the Community Feed.

1 Like

rsync is based on TCP

1 Like

Hi Lukas,

Thanks for that suggestion but I am not certain that it is the best idea for security reasons. See here Whilst the vulnerabilities in RSync might only be limited to the VM disabling my firewall exposes my host too doesn’t it?

My reasoning is as follows: the VM is residing on my laptop and the VM NIC is bridged to my laptop NIC disabling my firewall entirely (for example if I DMZ the laptops IP) will expose not only the VM but my laptop also won’t it?

Is a secure rule for port forwarding supported? Are there any guides for creating a firewall rule from and to the feed server on 873 / TCP ? i.e. a mapped port forward from the laptops IP on 837 / TCP to and from the feeds url or IP.

Hi,