Receiving error when trying to run openvassd

Hello,

I keep receiving the following error when trying to run openvassd via /usr/sbin.

“Error while loading shared libraries: libopenvas_nasl.so.9: cannot open shared object file: no such file or directory”

I am a complete rookie when it comes to OpenVas and I was given the task to update our instance to the latest version. We were on 7.0.2, and i believe its the GCE edition, not entirely sure honestly.

I found an article stating to the following via cli:

• /usr/sbin/greenbone-nvt-sync
  • /usr/sbin/greenbone-certdata-sync
  • /usr/sbin/greenbone-scapdata-sync
  • /usr/sbin/openvasmd –update –verbose –progress
  • /etc/init.d/openvas-manager restart
  • /etc/init.d/openvas-scanner restart

Once I did the -update -verbose part, after completion there was no openvas-manager in /etc/init.d/. I checked the version and it was still 7.02. Then i tried the following command yum install open vas. Which didnt seem to work and only make things worse. It said openvas packages were available but none actually installed so i force installed libraries (openvas-libraries-9.0.1). I’m basically stuck as i have come across no solution to manually installing the missing shared library the error is displaying.

On top of this i made the mistake of not making a backup of our working instance, so as of right now we dont have an openvas instance working.

Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you!

This error means you don’t have openvas-libraries installed. Personally I would start from scratch and install OpenVAS/GVM from a single package source.

Therefore please contact the distributor of your OpenVAS/GVM packages on howto install and setup OpenVAS/GVM.

The Greenbone Community Edition (GCE) is a virtual machine directly provided by Greenbone. You are using packages from a third party (Greenbone doesn’t provide packages for any distribution) therefore you are using the Greenbone Source Edition (GSE).

1 Like

Bricks,