Setting up Remote Scanners with Centralized Manager

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to OpenVAS, and I would like to set up a virtual network with OpenVAS scanning some arbitrary nodes in the network.

Right now, I’m having a really tough time to create (and also understand) an OpenVAS structure, where a scanner would reside in a subnet, away from the manager.

Just to update you on my understanding of OpenVAS, it appears possible to have multiple remote scanners in different subnets, and have these scanners be initiated by a centralized manager (if I’m wrong please tell me).

Can someone please advise me on how I can configure OpenVAS to operate with remote scanners and a centralized manager?

Please try to be as specific as possible, sending me links on manuals/guides on how remote scanners could be set up, as well as the manager.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

You can do this by building some scripts and trusted communication between the Manager and Sensor (this is how we call remove Scanner in different SubNets). You need to tunnel the OMP Socket between this instances either by pipe or other networking methods you need to configure between the Manager and Sensor. Same with Update and sensor synchronization you need to build a communication via network between them.

GOS on the hardware appliances does all of this out of the box.

2 Likes

Hi Lukas,

Thanks for your response!

I have some basic knowledge of networking, and intend to use GNS3 to simulate a simple network (maybe just 2 subnets and 1 router), but the workings of how the Manager and the Sensor communicate / config I’m very unsure of.

I read some articles talking about editing a file ::

-> edit /etc/init.d/openvas-manager
update the DAEMON_ARGS line to reflect the server address and a port of your chosing.
DAEMON_ARGS=" --listen=HOSTOIP --port=9393"

Hence, can you help to explain how can we define a node to be a Manager or Sensor?